7 Ways A Rabbit Will Change Your Life

On the surface, getting a pet rabbit doesn’t seem like a life changing decision. You might expect it to be as simple as going to your local pet store and picking out a new goldfish. But even the most well prepared bunny parents-to-be have no idea how much their new pet will impact their homes. Here are just 7 of the ways having a pet rabbit will change your life.

1. Poop will never be gross again

I feel like this is the first thing you learn as a new bunny parent. Rabbits poop. A lot. Your cute, fluffy, adorable little bunny can poop around 500 times a day. I remember when we first brought Ringo home, I tried my best to always use a vacuum or paper towel to pick up his droppings. Within a month, that plan was completely abandoned. I could touch bunny poop with my bare hands like it was my job. It helps that rabbit droppings are shaped like little coco puffs made of hay (unless it’s their special feces called “cecotropes” which are supposed to be re-ingested, as they are high in nutrients. But that’s another story…).

dsc_0412

2. You will become a healthier eater

Rabbits should be given fresh greens twice a day. That means that your fridge will forevermore be constantly stocked with romaine lettuce, parsley, kale, cilantro, and carrots (although carrots are high in sugar so they should only be given as a treat!). Having all those fresh veggies around the house definitely promotes making your own salad every once in a while to enjoy alongside your bunny friend.

dsc_0400

3. You will never be bored 

Rabbits are the most entertaining creatures. They all have their own unique and quirky personalities that are extremely lovable. They love to have fun and show it by sprinting around and hopping about. It is truly exciting to see your bunny enjoying himself by suddenly jumping 4 feet into the air and twisting his little body in ways you never thought possible. Even on my laziest, uneventful days, it always felt productive when I was able to spend time with Ringo.

img_5675

4. You will become a more empathetic person

Having a rabbit is learning how to empathize. Bunnies are prey animals, so they keep their feelings very close to themselves. Oftentimes, it is very difficult to understand how your pet is feeling, so bunny owners must practice the art of observation. To make sure you know your furry friend is healthy and happy, you must be able to step into your rabbit’s head to pick up on the slightest change of mood. For example, teeth grinding can mean one of two things- either the bunny tooth purr of happiness or the chatter of distress. Rabbit parents must have the most amount of empathy for their pet to be able to distinguish your bunny’s mood and health.

dsc_0226

5. You will learn how to love unconditionally

Ringo had a bad habit of peeing on everything. While I would recommend everyone get their pets fixed, Ringo had many health problems even as a young bunny, so we never got him neutered. When male bunnies aren’t fixed, they can be very territorial. This means that they wont always use the litter box because they are trying to leave their scent to mark their area. We just happened to be the territory Ringo wanted to mark. But even when he had peed on me for the third time in a day, I could never be upset with him. Every time I looked at his little face, my heart melted. I loved him for the good and the bad and no amount of urine could change that.

img_5347

6. You will be a hit at parties

No matter how lame a party is, it can always be brought back to life by whipping out your phone to show strangers pictures of your pet bunny. People have seen dogs before. They’ve seen cats, too. But rabbits are a unique and adorable pet that everyone can appreciate. So go ahead and scroll through your hundreds of pictures of your bunny for the world to see because I promise you everyone will love it as much as you do.

img_5184

7. You will learn to understand how precious time is

Like any pet, rabbits wont be with us forever. I learned that very early on with Ringo. Ever since we brought him home as a 6 week old baby, he had numerous health issues. I couldn’t even count the number of times we were told by our vet that Ringo wasn’t going to make it and that we should prepare for the worst. Every time, he managed to push through, but all of those near misses made me constantly reflect on his little life. I learned how to appreciate and cherish every moment I had with my little bunny, and I’m forever grateful for that. Coming to understand how valuable and vulnerable a bunny’s life is has helped me learn how to truly live in the moment. And when I had to say goodbye to Ringo for the last time just yesterday, I was so thankful to have had such a full life of love and appreciation with my little friend.

dsc_0357

 

Leave a comment